Site Leader Spotlight

Image
Darrell Deas

Why did you choose you trip issue?

The issue I chose for my trip was animal welfare. I feel as though animals are overlooked at times. We get so caught up with life and other things, that we forget that there are animals in serious need of help. For the animals in a shelter or humane society, they unfortunately spend years locked up in their cage with no one to really give them love and affection consistently.

 

How did you first become involved in ASB?

A friend of mine was a part of the organization and told me so many great things about what ASB is all about. A couple of days later I applied for my first trip.

 

What trips have you participated in?

I went on a trip during MLK weekend my sophomore year to work with food insecurity in Atlanta, Georgia. The following year, as a junior, I became a site leader and led an animal welfare trip to Chattanooga, Tennessee.

 

What is your favorite ASB memory?

Hearing how many meals we packaged in one day while we were working with our site, Open Hand, in Atlanta. Another favorite moment of mine, was hearing from the Chattanooga Humane Educational Society how appreciative they were that we came out to help them.

 

What is one thing you learned on an ASB trip?

One thing I have learned is that no matter how small, I can make a difference. When volunteering I, at times, wonder if my hour or week is really beneficial to an organization. By the time I am finished with volunteering, I can see the progress I have made.

 

How has ASB impacted you time at Auburn University?

 I am now more eager to help. They have also made me more conscientious about different issues going on in my community. There was a time when I thought I knew what I wanted to do with my life, but ASB, as well as my involvement with other organizations, helped me see different.

 

Site Leader Spotlight

Leave a Reply

